banner version 1

Former Students and Research Associates


Name MSU Research Current Position
Aaron Berger
Aaron Berger
PhD
Lake Erie Walleye Assessment and Management
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
Research Mathematical Statistician
NOAA Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Newport, Oregon 97365
aaron.berger@noaa.gov

Doug Bruggeman

Doug Bruggeman PhD
Landscape Equivalency Analysis
US EPA
President, Ecological Services and Markets, Inc.
Asheville, NC
dougbrugg@gmail.com

Matt Catalano
Matt Catalano
Research Associate
Management Strategy Evaluation: Alaska salmon and Lake Erie walleye
Bering Sea Fishermen's Association, Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Assistant Professor, Department of Fisheries and Allied Aquaculture
Auburn University
Auburn, AB
mjc0028@auburn.edu
Wen Dai Wenjing Dai Programmer/Data Analyst
Various modeling and analysis projects
Various funding sources
Senior Software Developer
Integrated HealthCare Solutions
Charlotte, NC
wdai@ihsolutions.org
Heather Dawon Heather Dawson PhD
Sea lamprey recruitment dynamics
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Assistant Professor, Biology Department
Universirty of Michigan, Flint
Flint, MI
hdawson@umflint.edu
Amy Derosier Amy Derosier MS
Sea lamprey early life history
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Biologist, Wildlife Division
Michgan Department of Natural Resources
Lansing, MI
derosiea@michigan.gov
Eli Fenichel
Eli Fenichel Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Sea lamprey risk assessment
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Assistant Professor of Bioeconomics and Ecosystem Management
Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
New Haven, CT
Eli.Fenichel@yale.edu
Gretchen Hansen Gretchen Hansen MS
Sea lamprey assessment methods
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Fisheries Research Scientist
Wisconsin Dept of Natural Resources
Madison, WI
Gretchen.Hansen@wisconsin.gov
Steve Haeseker Steve Haeseker PhD
St Marys River sea lamprey decision analysis
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Research biologist
US Fish and Wildlife Service
Vancouver, WA
Steve_Haeseker@fws.gov
Brian Irwin
Brian Irwin
Research Associate
Various projects (yellow perch, sea lamprey, cormorants, etc)
Great Lakes Fishery Commission, MI Sea Grant, MDNR
Assitant Unit Leader
USGS Coop. Unit, University of Georgia
Athens, GA
irwin@uga.edu
Brian Langseth
Brian Langseth
PhD
Lake Huron Multispecies Fishery Analysis
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Research Mathematical Statistician
NOAA Pacific Islands Fisheries Science Center
Honolulu, HI
brian.langseth@noaa.gov
John Netto John Netto MS
Lake trout habitat supply model
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Fishery biologist
US Fish and Wildlife Service
Stockton, CA
John_Netto@fws.gov
Nathan Nye Nathan Nye Research Technician
Salmon and whitefish energetics
Great Lakes Fishery Trust
Fisheries Biologist, Div of Water-Fish Management
Wisconsin, DNR
Poynette, WI
nathan.nye@wisconsin.gov

Amber Peters Amber Peters PhD
Chinook salmon energy dynamics
Great Lakes Fishery Trust
Assistant Professor
MSU Fisheries and Wildlife
East Lansing, MI
peter420@msu.edu
Katherine Smith Katherine Smith MS
Stream fish species assessment
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
National Program Lead, Fisheries Research
U.S. Forest Service
Arlington, VA
klsmith@fs.fed.us
Mike Steeves Mike Steeves MS
Uncertainty in sea lamprey assessment
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Section Head, Assessment
DFO Canada Sea Lamprey Control Center
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Mike.Steeves@DFO-MPO.gc.ca
Jason Stockwell Post -Doctoral Research Associate
Lake Erie walleye population dynamics
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Director, Rubenstein Ecosystem Science Laboratory
University of Vermont
Burlington, VT
jdstockw@uvm.edu

Andrew Treble Andrew Treble MS
Model of metamorphosis for sea lampreys
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Aquatic Researcher & Data Analyst
Colorado Parks and Wildlife
Fort Collins, CO 80526
ajtreble@gmail.com
Ty Wagner Tyler Wagner Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Lake whitefish health and mortality assessment
Great Lakes Fishery Trust
Assistant Unit Leader
USGS Coop Unit, Penn State University
University Park, PA
txw19@psu.edu
Robert Young Robert Young PhD
Sea lamprey adult assessment methods
Great Lakes Fishery Commission
Division Manager
Arctic Aquatic Research Division, DFO Canada
Winnipeg, MB
Robert.Young@DFO-MPO.gc.ca
Yingming Zhao Yingming Zhao Post-Doctoral Research Associate
Lake Erie walleye recruitment model
US FWS Restoration Act
Research Scientist
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
Lake Erie Unit, Wheatley, ON
Yingming.Zhao@ontario.gov
Home Background Research People Teaching Publications Projects Partners Personal
Michigan State University